Dementia / Alzheimer’s


Alzheimer’s & Dementia Basics you need to understand.

The stages of AD and What they Mean.

Alzheimer’s disease consist of three main stages: mild (sometimes called early-stage), moderate and severe (sometimes called late-stage). Understanding these stages can help you plan ahead.

Mild Alzheimer’s disease.

In mild Alzheimer’s disease, the first stage, people often have some memory loss and small changes in their personality. They may forget recent events or the names of familiar people or things. They may no longer be able to solve simple math problems.  People with mild Alzheimer’s disease also slowly lose the ability to plan and organize. For example, they may have trouble making a grocery list and finding items in the store.

Moderate Alzheimer’s Disease.

This is the middle stage of Alzheimer’s disease.  Memory loss and confusion become more obvious. People have more trouble organizing, planning and following instructions. They may need help getting dressed and may start having problems with incontinence. This means they can’t control their bladder and/or bowels. People with moderate-stage Alzheimer’s disease may have trouble recognizing family members and friends. They may not know where they are or what day or year it is. They also may lack judgment and begin to wander, so people with moderate Alzheimer’s should not be left alone. They may become restless and begin repeating movements late in the day. Also, they may have trouble sleeping. Personality changes can become more serious. People with moderate Alzheimer’s disease may make threats, accuse others of stealing, curse, kick, hit, bite, scream, or grab things.

Severe Alzheimer’s Disease

This is the last stage of Alzheimer’s and ends in the death of the person. Severe Alzheimer’s disease is sometimes called late-stage. In this stage, people often need help with all their daily needs. They may not be able to walk or sit up without help. They may not be able to talk and often cannot recognize family members. They may have trouble swallowing and refuse to eat.

FAQ’s about Reflections at Fellowship Square-Mesa

Are your CareGivers fully trained in Alzheimers/Dementia Care?

All of our caregivers and staff are certified with Arizona State Caregiver Certifications in addition we also train all our staff as “Certified Dementia Practitioners” CDP.  Each month our care staff also have continuation education classes to ceep current and updated on our best practices for senior care.

What is your staff-to-resident ratio?

Our Memory Care at The Reflections staff-to-resident is 1:8.

Can I come and visit with my loved one anytime?

Yes, Your visits would be as if you visit your loved one in his or her own home. If your loved one is accustomed to you visiting at a certain time of day, we encourage you to continue that same routine as consistency benefits your loved one.